Enjoy a short drive on the R440 to the Slieve Bloom Mountains and discover a wonderful variety of landscapes – blanket bogs, forestry paths, wooded valleys, mountain streams and waterfalls, and old settlement ruins. There is a choice of 16 different Looped Walks from 6 different Trail Heads to suit all levels of fitness with detailed maps and directions.
While on route stop off in the village kinnitty. The village derives its name from the myth that the head of an ancient princess is buried beneath the village, Ceann being Irish for head and Eitigh being the name of the princess. The village is situated at the foot of the Slieve Bloom Mountains in the ancient kingdom of Ãile, and is served by two pubs , two churches, a post office and some shops.
Uniquely there is a pyramid shaped tomb in the grounds of the town’s Church of Ireland church. The pyramid was built by the Bernard family who resided in Kinnitty Castle, which they built on the site of St. Finnians monastery, the high cross of which is still situated on the site. From 1955 to 1985, Kinnitty Castle hosted a Forestry Training College.